Skip to Content

Citizen Police Academy

Mission

The mission of the Texas State University Police Department’s Citizen Police Academy is to encourage and develop the relationship between the university community and the University Police Department through continuing education and achieving a safe and secure campus and environment where all students, faculty and staff can learn, work and live. The Citizen Police Academy supports the efforts of the Texas State University Police Department by advocating for continued law enforcement education and by promoting UPD’s special projects, events and services.

Citizen police academy patch

Serving Through Education

UPD’s Citizen Police Academy (CPA) is designed to give participants a working knowledge of the Texas State University Police Department. Each academy session consists of 13 weekly classes covering comprehensive topics about each department unit. Officers, supervisors and specialized personnel lead each class.

The motto of the Citizen Police Academy is “Serving through Education.” Our goal is to educate the Texas State community about the University Police Department and to increase the rapport between students, faculty, staff and police officers.

We hope that graduates of the Citizen Police Academy become more aware and better informed about how the University Police Department operates, and will encourage friends and coworkers to participate in the academy as well.

gitl

How to Apply

The Citizen Police Academy occurs once each fall and spring semester. UPD will announce open registration periods through @txstate.edu email. Follow the email instructions to apply for the program. Note that all applicants will have a background investigation. Classroom space is very limited — we recommend applying as soon as possible.

The current session (spring 2018) is closed.


Frequently Asked Questions

Expand or Collapse all.

If you have any questions about CPA, please contact Sergeant Chris Cost, Academy Coordinator, at updcpa@txstate.edu or 512.245.2805.



All classes are 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. (except for one Saturday range day).

Week 1: Tuesday, January 30

Week 2: Tuesday, February 6

Week 3: Tuesday, February 13

Week 4: Tuesday, February 20

Week 5: Tuesday, February 27

Week 6: Tuesday, March 6

Week 7: Tuesday, March 20

Week 8: Tuesday, March 27

Week 9: Saturday, March 31 (range day)

Week 10: Tuesday, April 3

Week 11: Tuesday, April 10

Week 12: Tuesday, April 17

Week 13: Tuesday, April 24

Week 14: Graduation — TBA